Lookback on the 2015 Service Excellence Week

2014

To jump-start Service Excellence Week, a conference was held on October 2, 2014. This special event saw senior managers join Service Excellence Champions and their managers to discuss service excellence. Take a look at the photos and the video of the conference.

Service Excellence Week Activities

The first-ever Service Excellence Week at the University of Ottawa was held from October 6 to 10, 2014. To celebrate this special event, the University asked its faculties and services to participate in a week of activities or organize their own events.

Service Excellence Week Activities

City of Ottawa and University of Ottawa employee panel

Photos of the uOttawa/City of Ottawa employee panel (see second and third last rows), which was jointly sponsored by the University of Ottawa and the City of Ottawa, focused on "Service Excellence in our Community".

Pop-up cafés

Here are some photos of the pop-up coffee shops (see last row) that sprung up at various locations on the main campus and at Roger Guindon campus.

Service Excellence Competition

Teams organized their own activities and were invited to share their stories, photos and videos. To be eligible, competition activities needed to recognize and thank staff members who, over the past year, had made major service excellence contributions, encouraged team work, raised awareness of the importance of service excellence among their colleagues and reminded them of how much the University values service excellence. Here are a few of the activities held this week.

  • Academic Writing and Help Centre (AWHC): The AWHC team members presented a video they had created to highlight their commitment to the Service Excellence program. You can watch this catchy video which is set to Happy by Pharrell Williams.
  • Centre for Global and Community Engagement (CGCE) — Winning team: The CGCE employees got together to organize a week of activities, including an open house during Service Excellence Week, improved signage in front of their main entrance, visits of students on campus and increased presence on social media networks.
  • Faculty of Arts, Undergraduate Studies Office: Members of the Faculty of Arts Undergraduate Studies Office took part in various activities organized by their unit. Each day of Service Excellence Week had its own theme, including a Hawaiian Day.
  • Food, Conferences and uOttawa Card Services: These team members were invited to contribute their experiences to a chain letter describing how they went beyond customer expectations to deliver excellent service.
  • Institute of the Environment and the Master's in Environmental Sustainability Program: As part of this competition, this team submitted a document that illustrated their winning formula for service excellence!

  Teamwork + Team Spirit + Cooperation = Service Excellence

  • Office of the Vice-President Academic and Provost: The team from the Office of the Vice President Academic and Provost gathered for lunch to discuss what they could to improve services on campus, including paying special attention to people, going beyond their job descriptions, and listening without judging others. The team members then signed the Service Excellence poster and displayed it in their office to remind them of their commitment to being University ambassadors and proponents of service excellence.
  • Payroll Services, Financial Resources: To celebrate Service Excellence Week, the team brought in a basket full of chocolate treats to reward colleagues who display great customer service. Anyone in the office can recognize a colleague when they provide excellent customer service by giving them a treat from the basket. It's a great way to get everyone in the office involved.
  • Teaching and Learning Support Service (TLSS): TLSS Service Excellence Champion Muriele Dagenais, together with Associate Vice-President Yves Herry and a few colleagues who were in on the secret, put together lovely baskets of delicious goodies accompanied by a thoughtful note to thank employees for their exemplary service.
Back to top

Retour sur la Semaine de l’Excellence du service

2014

Une journée-conférence donnait le coup d’envoi à la Semaine de l’excellence du service le 2 octobre. L’événement a réuni non seulement les champions et leurs gestionnaires, mais aussi les membres de la haute direction. Regardez les photos et la vidéo de la journée-conférence.

Activités de la Semaine

La toute première Semaine de l'excellence du service à l'Université d'Ottawa s'est tenue du 6 au 10 octobre 2014. Pour souligner cet événement spécial, l'Université encourageait ses facultés et services à participer aux activités de la Semaine ou à organiser leurs propres activités.

Activités de la Semaine

Panel des employés de l'Université d'Ottawa et de la Ville d'Ottawa

Retour en images sur le panel des employés de l'Université d'Ottawa et la Ville d'Ottawa (voir deuxième et troisième avant-dernières rangées de photos), événement présenté conjointement par l'Université et la Ville sur le thème « L'excellence du service dans notre communauté ».

Cafés éclair

Retour en images sur les cafés éclair (voir dernière rangée de photos) qui ont eu lieu à différents endroits sur le campus principal et au campus Roger Guindon.

Concours de la Semaine de l'excellence du service

Les équipes qui organisaient leurs propres activités étaient invitées à transmettre leurs histoires, photos et vidéos. Les activités devaient avoir pour but de reconnaître et de remercier des membres du personnel qui ont apporté une immense contribution tout au long de l'année, d'encourager le travail d'équipe, de sensibiliser le personnel à l'importance d'offrir un excellent service et de lui rappeler combien l'Université est attachée à l'excellence du service. En voici quelques exemples :

  • Cabinet du vice-recteur aux études : L'équipe du vice-rectorat aux études s'est réunie un midi afin d'examiner ce qui pourrait être fait pour améliorer le service sur le campus : porter une attention particulière aux gens, aller au-delà de nos responsabilités, écouter sans juger, etc. Les membres de l'équipe ont tous signé l'affiche d'excellence du service et l'ont affichée dans leur bureau. Ce geste les engageait à continuer d'être des ambassadeurs de l'Université et de l'excellence du service.
  • Centre d'engagement mondial et communautaire (CEMC) — Équipe gagnante du concours : Le CEMC a mis la main à la pâte pour organiser une semaine remplie d'activités : journées portes ouvertes pendant la Semaine de l'excellence du service, amélioration de la signalisation devant l'entrée principale du CEMC, visites des étudiants sur le campus et renforcement de la présence sur les médias sociaux, etc.
  • Centre d'aide à la rédaction des travaux universitaires (CARTU) : L'équipe du CARTU a présenté une vidéo qu'elle avait créée pour souligner son engagement envers le programme de l'excellence du service. Regardez cette vidéo entraînante sur la chanson Happy, de Pharrell Williams.
  • Faculté des arts, Bureau des études de premier cycle : Des membres du Bureau des études de premier cycle de la Faculté des arts ont pris part à différentes activités organisées par leur unité. Chaque journée de la semaine avait son thème et ses activités, dont une journée hawaïenne.
  • Institut de l'environnement et programme de maîtrise en durabilité de l'environnement : Dans le cadre du concours, cette équipe a soumis un document illustrant sa formule gagnante pour l'excellence du service!

Travail d'équipe + Esprit d'équipe + Collaboration = Excellence du service

  • Ressources financières, Service de la paye : L'équipe a amené au bureau un panier rempli de chocolats afin que n'importe qui puisse donner un chocolat, en guise de récompense, à un ou une collègue qui offre un excellent service à la clientèle — un très bon moyen d'amener tout le monde à s'impliquer.
  • Services alimentaires, Congrès et réservation et Carte uOttawa : Les membres de cette équipe étaient invités à participer à une chaîne de lettres pour relater une expérience où ils ont dépassé les attentes d'un client dans le but de lui offrir un excellent service.
  • Service d'appui à l'enseignement et à l'apprentissage (SAEA) : Muriele Dagenais, championne de l'excellence du service au SAEA, Yves Herry, vice-recteur associé, ainsi que quelques collègues dans le coup ont fabriqué de jolis paniers remplis de délicieuses gourmandises, le tout accompagné d'une petite lettre, afin de remercier les employés pour leur travail exemplaire.
Haut de page